Day Five – The Sins committed by the Limbs

I cannot believe its Day Five of Ramadan already! Where is the month going so quickly? Please, slow down! We love you month of Ramadan…

I quite like staying awake after Fajr, I’ve almost become accustomed to it now. Although, staying awake throughout the night without a nap will take its toll eventually; sleep deprivation, please don’t haunt me. I beg you.

I’ve been doing a lot of research today actually in an attempt to meet my goals I’ve set. Not just for Ramadan, but life goals. Well, I say research… it’s more of a refreshment as certain aspects of knowledge seemed to bury themselves inside my brain never to be seen again. They’re hibernating. Of course, Allah (SWT) is The Best of Planners but we still have to try.

It’s been raining a lot today, quite heavily actually. Although it’s not so much of a bad thing when the Prophet (SAW) has advised us that one of the best times to make dua is during rainfall, take advantage guys! I quite like the rain if I’m honest. There’s just something about sitting inside a stationary car with the rain pounding down which is quite relaxing and very much soothing.

The rain called for some self-reflection and I’ve realised how much more self-conscious I’ve become of my actions, speech and character. I was reading a book recently actually; I think it was Imam Al-Ghazali’s Beginning of Guidance. It advises us that religion is made of two parts, one refraining from disobedience and the other which is the act of obedience.

I began to reflect on something I had read about Yawm Al-Qiyamah when even our limbs will speak for us and reveal all. It’s an ayah in the Quran actually:

“On that day when their tongues, hands and their feet will testify against them as to what they used to do…” (An-Nur:24)

SubhanAllah! We are gifted limbs yet we used them to disobey showing a total lack of ingratitude. There are said to be seven parts that are most important to guard:

The eyes: From looking at a marriageable person in a lustful way, from looking at a Muslim with an eye of distain and from being on the look-out for another Muslim’s faults.

The ear: Listening to innovations, back-biting, delving into falsehood or talking about the faults of others.

The tongue: Lying – both in seriousness and joking, breaking a promise – signs of hypocrisy, back-biting; make mention of someone in a way they would dislike if they were to hear it, cursing, making fun of people, disputation, competitive debates and arguing – harming the one being addressed through ignorance and criticizing, as well as acting superior.

“Whoever leaves a quarrel while he is in the wrong, Allah will build him a house on the outskirts of Paradise, and whoever leaves a quarrel whilst he is in the right, Allah will build him a house in the highest part of Paradise” (Tirmidhi)

The stomach: from eating the forbidden and the doubtful, over-eating.

The hands: Don’t use them to strike another Muslim, harm any of Allah (SWT) creation or to receive unlawful wealth or to ruin something placed in your care. To write something that is unlawful to saw, as the pen is one of the tongues.

The feet: walk towards what is unlawful, not to approach the door of an oppressive ruler without necessity.

Until I read through these, it only hit me how much we disobey with our limbs so unintentionally. You cannot know identify how ugly your faults are until you view them in others, so don’t be content with your faults.Always be self-conscious and have Taqwa, insha’Allah. Use your limbs in obedience.

“There lies within the body a piece of flesh. If it is sound, the whole body is sound; and if it is corrupted, the whole body is corrupted. Verily this piece is the heart.” (Bukhari & Muslim)

Purify your heart, so you can rectify your limbs… On another note, this fast is quite getting me today and I think it’s something to do with the lack of eating last night as I’m feeling the hunger today. Although, hunger does make me feel so much more grateful for having food available, Alhamdulillah. Many survive like this day-to-day, involuntarily. May Allah (SWT) give them strength and reward them with the highest rank of Jannah.

